Animal Welfare Board of India

The Animal Welfare Board of India is a statutory advisory body on Animal Welfare Laws and promotes animal welfare in the country. Established in 1962 under Section 4 of the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals Act, 1960 (No. 59 of 1960), the Animal Welfare Board of India was started under the stewardship of Late Smt. Rukmini Devi Arundale, well known humanitarian. From ensuring that animal welfare laws in the country are diligently followed, to provide grants to Animal Welfare Organizations and advising the Government of India on animal welfare issues, the Board has been the face of the animal welfare movement in the country for the last 50 years.

The Board consists of 28 Members. The term of office of Members is for a period of 3 years.

Read More
Dr. O. P. Chaudhary, IFS, Chairman
Dr. O. P. Chaudhary, IFSChairman
Dr. Sujit Kumar Dutta, Secretary
Dr. Sujit Kumar DuttaSecretary
  • Stopping of illegal killing/sacrifices of Cows/calves and other animals and taking action against the offenders for violation of Transport of animals, Rules on the occation of Bakrid dated 07.06.2022Download
  • Request to implement and circulate Regulatory Compliances for Slaughter houses and Meat Shops dated 30.05.2022Download
  • Revised rate for Animal Birth Control Programme for Dogs as per the Animal Birth Control Rules, 2001 AWBI ABC Module dated 05.04.2022Download
  • Jodhpur High Court (HC) Judgement on Tonga RaceDownload
  • Final Judgement Pet Shop RulesDownload
  • Uttarakhand high court judgment dated - 04.07.2018 declaring entire animal kingdom having a distinct persona with corresponding rights, duties and liabilities of a living personDownload
  • Judgement 14 05 2018 in Dog Breeding and Marketing Rules (Rajasthan)Download

Donations for Animal Welfare

The Bank details of AWBI Donation Accounts
Click here to AWBI bank details
Donate Now

List of recognised

Animal Welfare Organizations

List of AWO
Back to Top